General Motor Vehicles Articles
In the past few sessions of the Maryland General Assembly, several new laws were passed that greatly restrict the way minors can operate their automobiles
What does Maryland require to lawfully drive a car? Registration, title and license plates; an inspection; a valid driver’s license; an emissions test; and insurance.
This article describes Maryland's driving while impaired by alcohol laws.
A public record can be corrected or a vehicle titled by petitioning for a writ of mandamus. Mandamus (Latin for "we command") is a writ issued by a court commanding a public official to perform an action.
Under Maryland law every child under 8 years old must ride in an appropriate child restraint and every child from 8 to 16 years old who is not secured in a child restraint must be secured in a vehicle seat belt.
Driving without a license is a criminal offense. This article describes how to replace a lost license.
Beginning May 7, 2025, a REAL ID compliant identification card will be required to board a plane. Here's how to get one.
Maryland law restricts reading, writing, or sending a text message, or using a handheld telephone, while operating a motor vehicle.
This article describes traffic citation procedure in Maryland.